Posted by: heartstransformed | October 16, 2012

Transitioning

A little over two months ago, I left the land that I had grown to love so much. 

It was terribly difficult for me to say goodbye to all the learners and friends that I have known the past two years.  Some of these learners have become like my own family.  The little ones have called me their mother.  It was difficult trying to explain to them why I was leaving.  Some of them begged me to stay, cried and wrote me letters.  As I said final goodbyes, in a way, I felt like I was abandoning my own children.  I love them so much!  It was hard not knowing if I would ever see some of them again.  All I could do was trust that these precious children are in God’s hands.

When returning to America, I went through a grieving process as I reflected on the reality that part of my life as I knew it had come to a close.  I had a hard time in the beginning, but every day I feel a little better.  I’m learning to be content with life right now.

And, during this transition period, God is reminding me that He has me here for a reason, just like he had me in South Africa for a purpose.  The important part is to follow Him no matter where I am located.  During debriefing, I learned the song “I will follow,” by Chris Tomlin.

 “Where you go, I’ll go
Where you stay, I’ll stay
When you move, I’ll move
I will follow…

All your ways are good
All your ways are sure
I will trust in you alone
Higher than my side
High above my life
I will trust in you alone

Who you love, I’ll love
How you serve I’ll serve
If this life I lose, I will follow you
I will follow you

Light unto the world
Light unto my life
I will live for you alone
You’re the one I seek
Knowing I will find
All I need in you alone, in you alone

In you there’s life everlasting
In you there’s freedom for my soul
In you there joy, unending joy
And I will follow”

He has a purpose for each stage of life that I’m in and even though I miss what I got to do the past two years, I’m trying to move forward in thinking about ministry opportunities now and in the future.  Right now I have been enjoying sharing at prayer groups and different churches.  I’m also looking forward to the possibility of going to Midwestern Theological Baptist Seminary during the spring semester.

Just as I trusted God to guide me in South Africa, I trust Him to guide me as I live life here right now.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
 in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.”

Proverbs 3:5-6

Leave a Reply

Categories

